The Board of Directors (BoD)

The BoD wields the broadest authority in the administration, management, and representation of the Agency. The responsibilities of the BoD include, inter alia to:

  • Define the long-term strategy of the Agency in line with the recommendations of the AGM;
  • Prepare and supervise a yearly work plan, to be discussed and approved by the AGM;
  • Prepare, implement and supervise all activities as defined in the work plan;
  • Develop and fulfil of the Agency’s quality system;
  • Ratify the Accreditation Procedures, as proposed by the Director of Accreditation;
  • Ensure that any specific mandate determined by the AGM is carried out;
  • Decide on the admission of new Members or the exclusion of Members (the latter to be confirmed by the AGM);
  • Make recommendations to the AGM on any modification of the Statutes;
  • Decide on any strategic alliance; these decisions should be confirmed by the next AGM;
  • Convoke a special AGM when needed;
  • Elect a President, Vice-president, Treasurer and Secretary;
  • Oversee the financial arrangements of the Agency and provide for the auditing of the accounts;
  • To hire, set loans and dismiss agents, employees and administrative staff and take all other measures as necessary for implementation of the daily management of the Agency;
  • Take any action deemed necessary in the interests of the Agency;
  • Appoint and dismiss the members of the BoC, the DoA, the Reviewers and Senior Reviewers. The process of appointment, including the procedure to propose candidates and their evaluation, is described in the Bye-Laws of the Agency;
  • Ratify the election by the Commissioners of the CoC;
  • Ratify the election by the Senior Reviewers of the CoR;
  • Define terms of appointment and remuneration.

The BoD is a collegiate body accountable to the AGM. The BoD is composed of five to seven Voting members (*) elected by the AGM or co-opted. One of them should be a representative from industry, having no conflict of interest with any Member of the Agency.

Each Voting Member of the Agency can deliver only one voting member for the BoD.

The current BoD consists of 7 voting members:

Dmitry KuzinSerhatAkpinar2 120MartinJanacek 120Vacancy 120

  • Pavel Žufan, president (BoD member since 21/05/2016, end of mandate AGM 2024)
  • Dmitry Kuzin, (BoD member since 31/05/2015, end of mandate AGM 2024)
  • Serhat Akpinar, (BoD member since 04/12/2021, end of mandate AGM 2024)
  • Teresa Shafer, treasurer (BoD member since 14/12/2016, end of mandate AGM 2024)
  • Maja Fošner, secretary (BoD member since 31/05/2015, end of mandate AGM 2024)
  • Martin Janacek, representative of employers (BoD member since 7/09/2020, end of mandate AGM 2024)
  • Vacancy, representative of students

Following officers are ex-officio non-voting members of the BoD:

MatthewKitching 120JanLojda 120Vacancy 120

  • Matthew Kitching (Director of Accreditation (DoA))
  • Jan Lojda (Chair of the Pool of Reviewers (CoPR))
  • Vacancy (Chair of the Board of Commissioners (CoC))
  • Jan Vanherck (Director of Finance and Administration (DoFA))

Previous BoD mandates:

(*): The BoD decided to invite a respresentative of students to attend the meetings as a (non-voting) observer.
When critical and/or confidential issues are discussed, the observer can be requested to leave the BoD meeting.
This function became obsolete due to the new Statutes (April 2021); from that moment onwards, the representative of students is a full, voting member of the Board.

When "26/05/2012" is mentioned as a starting date of a mandate, it means that the officer was appointed at the start of the Agency. The Agency took the form of an "aisbl" (international non-profit) at that date.
Most probably, the officer served already earlier at the previous ECBE, but this information is currently not published.



ECBE's 2022 Conference

Annual Conference:
The Strategic Turn
19-20 May 2022


Annual General Meeting:
(For Members only)
21 May 2022


Read more... 

    Register now!   



ENQA registration process

  • 02/10/2020: ENQA review visit ECBE started
  • 29/06/2020: ENQA review visit to ECBE is planned to start, but, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, is postponed to Fall
  • 29/02/2020: ECBE Self-Assessment Report was submitted to ENQA
  • 10/02/2020: Updates of the ECBE Quality Management Manual
  • 06/11/2019: The BoD approves the Bye-Laws, version 2.3.
  • 28/05/2019: EQAR confirms that the application by ECBE for inclusion on the Register is eligible
  • 14/05/2019: ECBE submits the application for EQAR registration
  • 15/04/2019: ENQA and ECBE agree on the full membership time-line; contract is signed
  • 14/01/2019: The General Meetings in Brussels approve the new Statutes

Read more ...

Important decisions

Read more …

ECBE ivzw

European Council
for Business Education ivzw

Avenue Louise 65
1050 Brussels, Belgium

BE 0543 364 504
Tel.: +32 2 535 89 07

 ©2019, ECBE ivzw
All rights reserved

Read more …
Terms and Conditions
Terms and Conditions of Sale

Social media