Home » Organisation


A Board of Commissioners – works independently from the Board of Directors, evaluating programmes of institutions and organisations for the awarding of accreditation.

Visiting teams – carry out evaluation procedures for the determination of accreditation of programmes. These teams are made up of individuals from accredited institutions. All visiting teams include a Commissioner.


Members of the Board of Directors


Ray Hilditch – President

Ray Hilditch has been in international education for over 30 years. He has held the position of Provost Emeritus at Huron University USA in London and Professor of Economics and Strategy at Hult International Business School. As CEO of an intercontinental institution based in London, his responsibilities have included finances, student recruitment, accreditation and legal matters as well as teaching and academic administration at an international level. A Scot by birth, he holds an MBA from Strathclyde University in Glasgow and serves as an external examiner on a number of UK university programmes. In “semi-retirement”, he now runs a study abroad program in London for American students and is, he says, open to offers on educational consultancy projects!


Veronique Sournies – Secretary

Ms Sournies is the International Relations Director of a group of private institutions based in Paris and is specialised in business with a focus on tourism, hospitality and luxury management. For the international business schools CMH and IEMI she has developed strong educational and professional links with universities in many foreign countries including China and Russia and with international hotel chains all around the world.


Professor Bob Johnson – ECBE Commissioner for Credit Rating and Ex Officio member of the Board of Directors

Dr Johnson advises on the design, validation, quality assurance, review and audit of programmes of learning in universities and in business organisations; both public and private. An expert in academic credit, e.g. ECTS, especially the Accreditation of Prior (Experiential) Learning, AP(E)L, the credit rating of work-based learning and training courses, whose writing includes “Models of APEL and quality assurance”. He is a keen proponent of lifelong learning and the Bologna process.


Prof. Jan Vanherck Dean of the United International Bussines Schools – Treasurer

Prof. ir. Jan Vanherck is currently Dean and professor of UIBS with campuses in Zurich, Lausanne, Antwerp, Brussels, Barcelona, Madrid, Milan, Amsterdam and Tokyo. He is also visiting a professor at Vesalius College, Vrije Universiteit Brussel. His main teaching topics are finance, mathematics and operations management. He graduated as a civil engineer from the University in Brussels and has held multiple management positions in national and international companies. As a business man, he is owner and founder of a company that develops and produces a new building material.Being Dean, he is highly involved in quality assurance and performance improvement projects, academic system development and accreditation. As a manager and consultant, his main strengths are turn around management, organisational optimisation focused on responsibility and accountability management and matching technological innovation and financial performance.


Robert T. M. Rietbroek 

Drs Rietbroek has been president of both state and private universities and has implemented international BBA and MBA programmes in co-operation with more than 40 partners worldwide. He has wide-ranging experience in validation and accreditation, both nationally and internationally, and is also a professor of accounting. He is from the Netherlands.


Lillian Schumacher

Dr. Lillian Schumacher is the Vice President for Academic Affairs and Associate Professor of Management at Tiffin University in Tiffin Ohio, USA. Before that, she served as the Assistant Vice President for Main Campus Academics, and before that, as the Dean of the School of Business. Dr. Schumacher has more than 26 years of experience in higher education and corporate environments in the areas of programme development, assessment, accreditation, teaching, management, strategic planning, budget preparation and administration, staff selection, and evaluation. Additionally she is a trained facilitator and executive coach and has done extensive consulting with both national and international companies. Her research interests include leadership, organizational change, strategic management, and international relations.


Dr. Maja Fosner Professor of Logistics, University of Maribor, Slovenia

Dr Maja Fosner studied mathematics at the University of Maribor. She received her Doctorate Degree at the Faculty of Education At the University of Maribor In 2004. She has written alone or in cooperation 53 Original scientific articles and since 2008 is the Vice Dean for Education and Postgraduate study, Faculty Of Logistics at the University Of Maribor. She is also a visiting professor at institutions in Russia and France. She is an evaluator for the national accreditation body of Slovenia, NAKVIS, as well as for study Programmes for ECBE. She is a member of numerous professional bodies.


Dr. Dmitry Kuzin Vice Rector for International Relations, International University In Moscow, Russia

Dr. Dmitry Kuzin graduated from Lomonsov Moscow State University, Faculty of Economics in 1976. His Post graduate studies include the Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO), USSR, 1979; Candidate Of Sciences (Economics) at IMEMO, 1981; And Doctor Of Sciences (Economics), Institute Of Economics, Russian Academy Of Sciences In 1994. He has held posts as Head of Research at CA&Co Russian Brokerage House from 1995 – 1999 and was Deputy General Director at Systema Mass Media Corp from 1999 – 2003. Dr Kuzin is Vice Rector for International Relations at International University in Moscow since 2003. He is also a member of the Russian Institute of Directors and of the editorial board of the scientific journal ‘Pecunia’ (Leon University, Spain). He is also the Deputy Editor-in-Chief of the journal ‘Management Science’.


Dr. Pavel Žufan Vice Rector for Strategy and IT, Mendel University in Brno

From 1995 Dr. Pavel Žufan has works at the Department of Management, in the Faculty of Business and Economics, Mendel University in Brno. In 2003 he was habilitated (Associate Professor) in the field of Industrial Economics and Management. In 2003-2009 he was the Chairman of the Department of Management as well as a vice-dean of the faculty from 2006-2014. From December 2015 he has been a Vice Rector of MENDELU for Strategy and IT. He is a member of the Strategic Management Society, the Academy of Management and a member of the executive board of the Wold Association for Case method Research and Application (WACRA). So far he has published over 60 papers in scientific journals and conference proceedings. At MENDELU he guarantees the subjects “Operations Management” and “Strategic Management”. Pavel is a member of four Scientific Councils at Czech business schools, and a member of the editorial board of one scientific journal.